http://www.isanybodyhere.com

Dinner Conversation

I started with some Schwanns Stir Fry vegetable blend.  Dropped it in a fry pan with a little olive oil.  Also had a Hoison sauce packet to add at the end, which I did, though not a full serving.

 

Then I added some Quorn Tenders.I have to admit I was a little scared to try these.  I have been looking for a meat substitute that isn’t soy.  I believe I have hit the mother load.  I know how bad this is going to sound, but…this is made out of mushrooms.  It was GOOD!  I am looking forward to trying the other types.

 

At the last minute I threw in some Shirataki noodles (made from yam), the hoison sauce,

And some sweet chili pepper sauce.

Oh My GOODNESS it was good!  I had two bowls!  I am so full.  I just entered all of the info into my food tracker program and it was just ridiculously healthy.  And I had two good sized portions and the grand total on calories was 200 and 4 grams of fat.  I am just astounded.  I am definitely going to buy some of the Quorn beef substitute products for my husband to try.  I would like to cut back on his soy.

Comments on: "Dinner Conversation" (0)

  1. I love how meals like that can fill you up. Healthy Choice makes some good “Asian-inspired” steamer bowls that serve me well at work. Your dinner sounds delicious except that I have a strong aversion to mushrooms. I hate them. I appreciate them in theory and would like to consume them for my health – they’re pretty, nutritious, and kind of romantic in a storybook sort of way – but they’re gross! Plus, they’re not even plants . That said, you rock!

  2. @BoureeMusique – Thank you for the nice rockyness. 🙂  There was nothing mushroomy about this stuff.  Texture & taste was like a mild good chicken breast.  It was amazing.

  3. you like the shirataki noodles?  they are on my grocery list but im wondering if they are good.  did you get them at kroger?

  4. sadly, companion shouldn’t eat too many mushrooms as they aggravate his gout or some such nonsense…

  5. You didn’t like our comments yesterday on your “test”?  ::sniff::  I hated not to say hello when I saw it. You have a bunch of goodies on here that I have wanted to try.  Do you subscribe to the Hungry Girl website?  She is always talking about shirataki noodles.  I’ve heard of quorn (what an awful name) but now it sounds much more appetizing to try!Kathi

  6. @sighler – I really did like them.  I’m not a noodle eater, so I think I kind of liked these better.  They were shaped like ramen, but they were chewy.  But you really have to know the rules.  Buy the yam ones, not the tofu ones.  Open the package, drain the packing liquid rinse and put them immediately into boiling water for three minutes.  What ever you do, don’t smell them before cooking!  They smell like old seawater.  I assume it’s the seaweed n them.  I got them online.  I never thought for a moment that they might carry them at Kroger and so never looked!  I got mine here  http://www.asianfoodgrocer.com/product/jfc-white-shirataki-noodles  

  7. @Still_groovy – I like hungry girl! Lots of good ideas there.  I also like Dr. Gourmet. The quorn is the worst name, and worst packaging design I have ever seen.  They could not make it look more unappetizing.

  8. Wow that looks good!  I think Craig might like it too.  

  9. Anonymous said:

    Now that sounds and looks yummy.

  10. It’s so much fun when you can do that!  I am back on track today (again).  Fell off the wagon big time w/our first overnight outing a few weeks ago and never got back on!  OMG!  I have nothing for fall and winter that fits good and I will NOT go back into the “other” sizes.  so – back on.  That sounded good!  

  11.  Yam noodles? I’m gonna have to try those.

  12. wow, the dishes look very oriental, YUM YUM !

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Coffee with Jen - Get With It For Life

Life, Health & Fitness for Women Over 50

rainfreak.com

My Life as a Cancer Patient

LindaC61

Blogging like it's the old days.

Musings of a Quirky Introvert

ideas ... observations ... reflections

WLS Community Watch

This is a community watch page.

midlifechangingways

I'm on a path. It meanders.

The Enchanted Cottage

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

Kim Ousley Freelance Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Binaural beats therapy

Brainwaves entrainment for Android

kissedbyadog

random thoughts and ramblings

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

righteousbruin

Just another WordPress.com site

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

pizzasomm

pairing wine with pizza and then meowing about it.

greenfields

The mysterious mind of Steven Rigolosi

Bridgette Tales

Everybody has a story. Here's a little of mine.

Letters from Lyndie

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

Bets and Pieces

Solving Life's Puzzles, One Word at a Time

Start Skydiving

Think...Dream...Fly!!

oceanstarr

Onward and upward

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Duffel Bag And A Dream

Nomad Finding Roots

Blog - The Curious Coconut

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

The Learned Lesson

I am a young lady who is learning lessons from the mistakes I have made and comically growing from all of my life's crazy moments.

Inciteful

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

streetspun

toledo.ohio

2me4art

amy begun saab ~life as i see it. a Vermonter deeply entrenched in Alabama dirt...so i plant flowers.

