http://www.isanybodyhere.com

I look young for my age.  Always have.  I mean, there’s no picture of Dorianna Grey hanging anywhere but if I wanted to lie about my age, I could.  Because of that, I’ve never been particularly bothered about people kidding me if I’m older than them. Enter a previous employer.
Let’s call him Modd Tyers. 

Modd was very young.  He started businesses young, and he hired me when he was young. We had a good joking relationship, so of course since I was older there was much making fun of decrepitude. Especially when I was in the advanced times of my life, you know 35. 

Eventually Modd moved the corporate office, and himself to another city.  We’ll call this City Moston, Bassachusettes.

One day I went to spend some time in Moston, and Modd picked me up from the Airport. He took me to the hotel to drop off my bags, and then bless his young heart he took me to a liquor store to grab a bottle of wine so I could get to sleep. 

There was an adorably New England type man being the keeper of the alcohol.  He was a 150 if he was a day.  All silently brooding, looking like he should be out on a fishing schooner.  I can only assume that he overheard some flippant remark that Modd made to me about my aging mind because when we got up to the counter Modd was talking to the nice New Englander and said, “aren’t you going to ask for my I.D. like you did last time”? 

To which Mr. New Englander without missing a beat, replied in quintesential New Englander fashion, “Aye, I would Sonny, but I didn’t want to embarass you in front of your mother.”

Comments on: "A story someone reminded me of." (0)

  1. haha that’s funny. (I especially like the name of the un named town. hahaha)

  2. Funny and well-writ, every line.

  3. “Modd Tyers!”  LOL  Cute story, Tracy!Kathi

  4. Great story… if only I could figure out the actual names and places involved.

  5. Now that was funny!

  6. ohhhh, what a joke!!!

  7. I love this! I always looked older than my years.It was weird because my mom always looked younger and I look like her!

  8. Hahah!The first time I showed Craig a picture of you and Katy, he asked who is the mom and who is the daughter? 

  9. Anonymous said:

    Oh no!!  I am chuckling.

  10. LMAO! Too funny

  11. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

  12. hahahahaha!  so funny! 

  13. Love his name….modd tyers! HAHAHA!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Just thinkin'...

the moon and stars do that to me.

It's me - mb!

musings from the mind of mb

The Journey from Big Girl to Fit N HEalthy

It Doesn't Matter How Many Times You Fall As Long As You Always Stand Back Up One More Time

Coffee with Jen - Get With It For Life

Life, Health & Fitness - always keeping it REAL

rainfreak.com

My Life as a Cancer Patient

LindaC61

Blogging like it's the old days.

Musings of a Quirky Introvert

ideas ... observations ... reflections

WLS Community Watch

This is a community watch page.

midlifechangingways

I'm on a path. It meanders.

The Enchanted Cottage

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

Kim Ousley Freelance Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Binaural beats therapy

Brainwaves entrainment for Android

kissedbyadog

random thoughts and ramblings

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

A Sagittarian Seeker

Sharing a life of inner and outer journeys

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

pizzasomm

pairing wine with pizza and then meowing about it.

Bridgette Tales

Everybody has a story. Here's a little of mine.

Letters from Lyndie

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

Bets and Pieces

Solving Life's Puzzles, One Word at a Time

Start Skydiving

Think...Dream...Fly!!

oceanstarr

Onward and upward

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Duffel Bag And A Dream

Nomad Finding Roots

Blog - The Curious Coconut

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

The Learned Lesson

I am a young lady who is learning lessons from the mistakes I have made and comically growing from all of my life's crazy moments.

Inciteful

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

