http://www.isanybodyhere.com

Time to go home

  It’s been a fine trip.  These business with an extra day at the end trips are odd.  They’re not vacations, so you work normal hours for the first three days but you eat dinner in strange places and wake up in hotels.  But on your Saturday you try to use your time wisely to see what you want to see. 

It was really fun to meet people that I have been talking to on a daily basis for two years!  It’s just like meeting someone from the Internet that you’ve become friends with.  Speaking of which.

Working.jpg

Here you go Nina!  One of my coworkers laughed about me posting a picture of my bruised and battered foot on Facebook and I explained I very meanly do it becuase you hate feet.  He showed up for dinner with sandals just so I could take pictures of his web toes!

JasonsWebToes.jpg

 

This is what it looks like when you get a bunch of people together who are all technology junkies.

Jamie.jpg

Oh, yeah, that’s how the trip started.  The day we left I fell at home.  I slipped on a used fabric softener sheet, which on tile, is wicked.  I bruised the front of my foot, my ankle, my knee and my hip.  Couldn’t wear shoes, got a suitcase dragged across the top of the same foot at the Dallas airport.  Poor foot.

100_4282.jpg

Really, the only thing we wanted to see was the 6th Floor Museum and Dealey Plaza.  My husband was very interested in it, I was more of a, well I’m in Dallas, I have to see it.  We parked at the Dallas Aquarium and then wandered downtown until we ended up in the right place.  Feels historical. 

X.jpg

Not sure why it turned Yellow!

DealeyPlaza

We decided we should go in the aquarium since we were there, but after 20 minutes in line and being halfway to the entrance we decided no.  I can’t imagine how busy the aquarium was inside.  We then spent the rest of the day wandering the city, window shopping, eating. 

2010-06-17 18.54.09 Cows.jpg Dinner.jpg Dinner_N1andN2.jpg

I did not get a good hotel for this part. (I split my time and location so that I could easily pay for the vacation part).  Bad location.  You know it’s bad when they have signs everywhere warning people not to steal things.  Oops.  Only surprising when you realize the excess of wealth around here.  Amazing.

 

Off to shower and get a move on.

 

Comments on: "Time to go home" (0)

  1. “Only surprising when you realize the excess of wealth around here. Amazing.”Tracy, how so? I’m sort of curious.:)

  2. The thing that makes me the craziest about Dallas is the highway system!  There are a lot of things to see and do there, though.  Dryer sheets on tile or laminate floors are DEADLY!

  3. @wematter – 90% of the neighborhoods we have been driving through are very large and obviously expensive homes.  Homes with wings, rather than floors.  Parking lots peppered with Mercedes, BMW and Lexus.  The shopping centers are filled with the high end stores.    Both in Dallas and Plano there is a huge amount of gated communities as well.

  4. Ic, I guess the fortune 500 is an accurate list and the petroleum related business’s still rule. Thanks. 🙂

  5. Very interesting trip, and glad you enjoyed it so much. Boy, I’d absolutely love looking through all those fascinating places you visited. Arghh, your foot DOES look sore!! Great photos.

  6. I didn’t realize you would be traveling with the hubster.  How nice!I love that picture that turned yellow.  It looks like it is a scene from a science fiction movie.Your co-worker’s foot picture is so funny but does Nina look at Xanga anymore???When we go through neighborhoods like that we always wonder how all of those people made that money.  What the heck are they doing to get so rich???

  7. Work + vacation, seemed to mix it well, thanks for sharing!

  8. Your foot looks like mine did when I broke it.

  9. Those beans and rice look awesome! I had some good hole-in-the-wall mom-and-pop-owned Tex-Mex food yesterday. Soooo good! I’m sorry about your foot! The holes in it put my myriad mosquito bites to shame.

  10. your poor foot !! well, at least it wasnt broken .. that woulda made your trip no fun at all ! 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

rainfreak.com

My Life as a Cancer Patient

LindaC61

Blogging like it's the old days.

Musings of a Quirky Introvert

ideas ... observations ... reflections

WLS Community Watch

This is a community watch page.

midlifechangingways

I'm on a path. It meanders.

The Enchanted Cottage

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

Kim Ousley Freelance Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Binaural beats therapy

Brainwaves entrainment for Android

kissedbyadog

random thoughts and ramblings

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

righteousbruin

Just another WordPress.com site

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

pizzasomm

pairing wine with pizza and then meowing about it.

greenfields

The mysterious mind of Steven Rigolosi

Bridgette Tales

Everybody has a story. Here's a little of mine.

Letters from Lyndie

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

Bets and Pieces

Solving Life's Puzzles, One Word at a Time

Start Skydiving

Think...Dream...Fly!!

oceanstarr

Onward and upward

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Duffel Bag And A Dream

Nomad Finding Roots

Blog - The Curious Coconut

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

The Learned Lesson

I am a young lady who is learning lessons from the mistakes I have made and comically growing from all of my life's crazy moments.

Inciteful

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

streetspun

toledo.ohio

2me4art

amy begun saab ~life as i see it. a Vermonter deeply entrenched in Alabama dirt...so i plant flowers.

Kate Mulgrew's Official Fansite Blog

Information on Kate Mulgrew from her official fansite - TotallyKate.com

