http://www.isanybodyhere.com

I have a gazillion things to talk about. But I’m tired, and my house smells like bleach.

Ate raw vegetables on Saturday, so tasty, so sick.

My life is full of befores and afters and firsts. Today was the 1st dentist appointment since chemo/radiation. No cavities. I am measuring my life these days in very different increments.

I have an account on ancestry.com. I had no information on my family because we suck and everyone stopped talking to each other. Within 24 hours of creating the account I found someone who had traced my grand-fathers family on my mothers side back to the 1700’s and gave me access to her tree. 🙂 When I get a the hankering I’ll share it with you. I will tell you that my Great, Great, Great, Great Grandfathers name was Devereaux Wrather (later generations changed it to Rather). It is helpful to have a unique name. There are many Google’able people with that name and I’m going to guess they are all related to me far far down the line.

I believe my Dad may be some sort of spy or Alien because he certainly didn’t exist on any record anywhere. I found his parents & sister on a couple of census records with their last name spelled a few different ways, then nothing. All gone. The lives of poor 2nd generation immigrants during and following the depression is not easy to trace.

I would love to be friends or at least acquaintances with people who share my genes, I really feel like it’s something missing in my life. I don’t know why.

Tracing my husbands family very quickly hit a very large brick wall as well.

That is all.

 

Comments on: "Nothing to say worth staying awake for." (0)

  1. I have been so sleepy today but still trying to stay busy oh my goodness I feel a nap coming on 

  2. When I belonged to Ancestry.com, I felt like I gave them more information than I was getting. In 1912, somebody in my dad’s family had a geneology done, and that is a source of real entertainment to read. Since I didn’t do the research, I don’t know how much is true, but it’s fun to think about.It’s cool to know your roots.

  3. @whyzat – I could only trace my family back one generation so this was very cool for me!

  4. I’m also an ancestry.com addict….you will become one when you start being successful…so do you think you are Dan Rather’s long lost cousin?

  5. When life is a bit more predictable I think id like to do something like that. One of my great aunts gave me many hand written pages of everyone we could think of on my moms side and my dad has some pretty good info on his side. I should probably get to it sooner than later.

  6. do you know that they can’t trace my family history back past my grandparents, so my aunty claims that she is part aboriginal and gets lots of benefits…just ebcause she ‘looks’ aboriginal. Meanwhile I’m the most english looking person ever haha ancestry is strange. Apparently my great-grandad lived in india and married and indian woman….so we are part indian. But how do you know what’s actually true? you know?

  7. I know a lot of our family history but would still love to know more. It’s fun to find stuff that makes them all more real. I hope you find some fun stuff. I can see why you would feel like something is missing, we all want to be connected and when your family doesn’t stay connected, that is a loss.. Good luck! and glad the dentist went well,hope the tummy feels better soon!

  8. Seemed you tried to connect to someone/something that meant something to you ?Or tried to connect to yourself if there’s anything meaningful in life ?

  9. We have Italians who came off the boat post-Civil War and I’m either related to statesman Lafayette or pirate Lafitte. Sadly, we all prefer the scalawag.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

rainfreak.com

My Life as a Cancer Patient

LindaC61

Blogging like it's the old days.

Musings of a Quirky Introvert

ideas ... observations ... reflections

WLS Community Watch

This is a community watch page.

midlifechangingways

I'm on a path. It meanders.

The Enchanted Cottage

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

Kim Ousley Freelance Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Binaural beats therapy

Brainwaves entrainment for Android

kissedbyadog

random thoughts and ramblings

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

righteousbruin

Just another WordPress.com site

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

pizzasomm

pairing wine with pizza and then meowing about it.

greenfields

The mysterious mind of Steven Rigolosi

Bridgette Tales

Everybody has a story. Here's a little of mine.

Letters from Lyndie

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

Bets and Pieces

Solving Life's Puzzles, One Word at a Time

Start Skydiving

Think...Dream...Fly!!

oceanstarr

Onward and upward

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Duffel Bag And A Dream

Nomad Finding Roots

Blog - The Curious Coconut

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

The Learned Lesson

I am a young lady who is learning lessons from the mistakes I have made and comically growing from all of my life's crazy moments.

Inciteful

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

streetspun

toledo.ohio

2me4art

amy begun saab ~life as i see it. a Vermonter deeply entrenched in Alabama dirt...so i plant flowers.

Kate Mulgrew's Official Fansite Blog

Information on Kate Mulgrew from her official fansite - TotallyKate.com

