http://www.isanybodyhere.com

I was reading about different methods of cooking butternut squash and wondering if cooking it in the microwave killed nutrients when I suddenly thought, hmmm, I wonder if HFCS & Mircrowaves became popular around the same time. What if it is actually the use of Microwaves & not HFCS that caused the sudden upswing in obesity in Americans. So I went and looked and I’ll be darned if they didn’t become widely used at the same time!

” The countertop microwave oven was first introduced in 1967 by the Amana Corporation, which had been acquired in 1965 by Raytheon.”

The production process of high fructose corn syrup (HFCS), was developed in Japan in the 1960s and became popular with manufactured foods in the late 1970s.

Comments on: "Maybe the corn council should hire me!" (0)

  1. If you look at the number of “convenience” foods (i.e., microwavable), I would imagine the microwave plays a larger part in the upswing.  There are so many preservatives in those pre-packaged foods and the nutritional value is severely diminished.  The more we use the microwave, the farther we get away from preparing good home cooked meals from fresh ingredients.  The microwave also made it easier to prepare something to eat while parked in front of a big screen tv or a game console.  Granted, there is a lot of HFCS in many of the prepared foods, but I would imagine the microwave is the biggest contributor.

  2. @Emme402 – That is an excellent point.

  3. You are brilliant!

  4. Nothing beats a “home cooked” meal. Me being lazy use the microwave “oven” than I should.

  5. I never made that connection.

  6. The microwave is only a tool…  I use it because then I don’t need to use oil, butter or anything else.  I think another connection worth looking at is when fast food restaurants started doing massive advertising on the tv and everyone had tvs (and a MacDonalds, Wendy’s, KFC, Olive Garden, Pizza Hut on every corner). I was in Boston in August and noticed how few obese people there were, how all the food courts and restaurants we went to had salads and nutritional data available. Then we went to Fort Lauderdale and Miami. The malls were full of waddling, wobbling people. Outside of Subway there were no salads or nutritional info in the big malls and I think the restaurant attitude is best summed up by a very nice French one we went to in Fort Lauderdale. I asked if they had a low-fat salad dressing, the waiter looked at me as though I had asked for rocks from Mars and said, no, nothing like that, this is a restaurant.  (In Boston in the clothes shops I was a size medium, in Miami I was small and xsmall!)

  7. A microwave will only make you fat if you cook stuff in it that will make you fat.  HFCS will kill you by making you obese, and you don’t even have to cook it! (plus corn and corn derivatives are in almost EVERY processed food and they are deadly horrible for humans…hence the obesity epidemic) 

  8. Pretty sure this is a conspiracy.

  9. Ding Ding Ding … I think you’ve got something!

  10. That’s the kind of thing my great grandmother would think about…and all her kids have lived to be in their 90’s. It’s not so crazy.I want to know about cancer rates and Genetically engineered food…but guess it’ll be a few years before anyone looks at that seriously. In the mean time I wish we had a choice. Or at least an easy to understand choice….

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Just thinkin'...

the moon and stars do that to me.

It's me - mb!

musings from the mind of mb

The Journey from Big Girl to Fit N HEalthy

It Doesn't Matter How Many Times You Fall As Long As You Always Stand Back Up One More Time

Coffee with Jen - Get With It For Life

Life, Health & Fitness - always keeping it REAL

rainfreak.com

My Life as a Cancer Patient

LindaC61

Blogging like it's the old days.

Musings of a Quirky Introvert

ideas ... observations ... reflections

WLS Community Watch

This is a community watch page.

midlifechangingways

I'm on a path. It meanders.

The Enchanted Cottage

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

Kim Ousley Freelance Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Binaural beats therapy

Brainwaves entrainment for Android

kissedbyadog

random thoughts and ramblings

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

A Sagittarian Seeker

Sharing a life of inner and outer journeys

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

pizzasomm

pairing wine with pizza and then meowing about it.

Bridgette Tales

Everybody has a story. Here's a little of mine.

Letters from Lyndie

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

Bets and Pieces

Solving Life's Puzzles, One Word at a Time

Start Skydiving

Think...Dream...Fly!!

oceanstarr

Onward and upward

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Duffel Bag And A Dream

Nomad Finding Roots

Blog - The Curious Coconut

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

The Learned Lesson

I am a young lady who is learning lessons from the mistakes I have made and comically growing from all of my life's crazy moments.

Inciteful

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

