http://www.isanybodyhere.com

So this is what happened…

I can’t believe I’m telling this but it was really was funny so I am going to. I have included artwork for your viewing pleasure. I did not draw these myself because mine would have been much grosser.

Yesterday I thought I might be coming down with something so I was prepared to wake up sick today and work from home. It’s a good thing I was prepared because I did end up working from home but not for the reason I expected.

I went to bed and just as I was getting ready to drift off to sleep…

I realized my nose felt a little stuffy and then remembered I hadn’t used my perscription anti-histamine nasal spray. I keep it next to my bed so I sat halfway up and grabbed it. This is what it looked like when I did one side.

 

This is what it looked like when I did the second side.

I don’t know how it happened but somehow my arm slipped or something and instead of gently squeezing a metered dose of lovely medicine up my nose I shoved the bottle up my nose! I jammed that plastic piece so hard that blood started pouring out of my nose like someone turned on a faucet.

It took me about 45 minutes to get the bleeding to stop. I was very close to hitting the Emergency Room but I didn’t want to explain to a stranger what happened! It was unbelievable, I’ve never seen so much blood. It looked like someone got shot in my bed.

When I woke up this morning one side of my nose is all swollen and I sound like a comedien pretending to have a cold. It’s achy like having a headache on the side of your nose & one sinus. My husband made me promise to go to the doctor just in case I had actually damaged something. Luckily when I called someone else had just cancelled for this afternoon. We all spent a lot of time laughing when I explained what had happened. She said it doesn’t look too bad just a big old scab covering the inside of my nose The nasalness to my voice probably has more to do with the blood that probably went up into my sinus cavity. I’m going to try some warm compresses tonight to break some of the dried stuff up.

I’m so glad I didn’t break my nose! Luckily it appears like I slammed myself into the soft parts and not the bone.

 

Who does something like that?

Comments on: "So this is what happened…" (0)

  1. I really don’t know what to say.  I want to be loving and supportive…but I can’t quit jiggling trying to suppress the laughter that wants to burst forth.  I’m sorry you injured yourself but damn, I would have paid to watch the comedic routine…especially the one about the blood in the bed!!! hahahahahahaha

  2. @Ninasusan – it has got to be the oddest way I’ve ever injured myself. The doctor & nurse were really laughing.

  3. I can’t look at that bloody picture but the picture of the old lady as you cracks me up. Isn’t it weird how those things happen?!? I am glad you are okay and didn’t really injure yourself. I am glad your hubby encouraged you to get it checked out. Better safe than sorry. This is like that day that Erik woke up and went to turn his alarm off and clipped his face. Well, not quite that much blood. Take care of yourself chickie!!!

  4. I love your sense of humor, Tracy, but that was not funny!!! Sorry it happened. Loved your graphics.

  5. Wow.  I would have probably freaked out.  That’s a lot of blood.  So glad there was no serious damage.

  6. Gotta admit to giggling on this one.  I know it was a scare and worrisome but today, knowing you are okay but puffy, well, titter titter, giggle giggle. I am sorry!

  7. hahahhaa oh my gosh!! I do things like this all the time. I’m so glad you’re okay though. I would’ve freaked out with all that blood!! When I was in grade 12 I used to always get this red line on my forehead like a scratch, I had no idea why. Then I realised that there was just one button on my year 12 jersey and everytime I lifted it over my head to take it off it would scratch my head haha.

  8. I “nose” how you feel. Not really. I haven’t really had any serious nose bleeds. I just wanted to work in the pun. I’m glad no serious damage was done.

  9. yeah, it’s lucky you didn’t break my nose !!!accident is accident, what can I say ???

  10. OUCH! Hope your nose feels better SOON!

  11. I am made of klutziness. I’m not laughing at your… happenstance yet, still cringing and feeling pain in my own face. I’m glad you’re okay, silly face.

  12. Yikes!!!  Glad you are okay, though.

  13. @skanickadee – It was definitely the oddest injury I’ve had for awhile. When I went to the Dr (whom I adore) she said “some people just have strange things when they come in, I’m making a note that you’re one of those people” The old woman is apparently Florence Nightingale! Kind of fitting for my story. 🙂

  14. @HUMOR_ME_NOW – Thank you, and thank you. If you can’t laugh at things that turn out okay you will always be anxious or worried. 

  15. @Emme402 – me too! I’m glad I didn’t actually break my nose.

  16. @to_be_creative – agreed. I was laughing when it happened too. It was just such a ridiculous occurrence.

  17. @TutelageOfTheMundane – I work with someone who has an unnatural obsession with puns, so I understand. 🙂

  18. @BoureeMusique – It was almost a much sillier face! Though perhaps if I had hit the other way my deviated septum could have been fixed. 🙂

  19. Well that was unexpected!!!  I’d hate to have to wash the sheets and bedding…  Look at me, more concerned about the mess.  Ugh, still the mother.  Hope your nose feels better soon, and that you take great care when you stick things up it!  Lois

  20. OMG!    Hope it’s healing well!  Holy Cow! 

  21. Poor baby!  Please take care of yourself and don’t pick up any sharp objects….

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

rainfreak.com

My Life as a Cancer Patient

LindaC61

Blogging like it's the old days.

Musings of a Quirky Introvert

ideas ... observations ... reflections

WLS Community Watch

This is a community watch page.

midlifechangingways

I'm on a path. It meanders.

The Enchanted Cottage

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

Kim Ousley Freelance Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Binaural beats therapy

Brainwaves entrainment for Android

kissedbyadog

random thoughts and ramblings

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

righteousbruin

Just another WordPress.com site

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

pizzasomm

pairing wine with pizza and then meowing about it.

greenfields

The mysterious mind of Steven Rigolosi

Bridgette Tales

Everybody has a story. Here's a little of mine.

Letters from Lyndie

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

Bets and Pieces

Solving Life's Puzzles, One Word at a Time

Start Skydiving

Think...Dream...Fly!!

oceanstarr

Onward and upward

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Duffel Bag And A Dream

Nomad Finding Roots

Blog - The Curious Coconut

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

The Learned Lesson

I am a young lady who is learning lessons from the mistakes I have made and comically growing from all of my life's crazy moments.

Inciteful

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

streetspun

toledo.ohio

2me4art

amy begun saab ~life as i see it. a Vermonter deeply entrenched in Alabama dirt...so i plant flowers.

Kate Mulgrew's Official Fansite Blog

Information on Kate Mulgrew from her official fansite - TotallyKate.com

