http://www.isanybodyhere.com

My husband and I have gotten so lazy that we never have any new arguments, but we repeat the same old ones on a very regular basis.  One of the arguments is over…Oprah.  He has the instant dislike of her that so many people seem to get.  I think it’s based on the fact that she gets publicity for doing good things.  So because she gets publicity for it, it’s no longer a good thing.  I hear this argument (though not in those words) from other people as well.  You know, she gave away 100 cars,  – well yeah, but she didn’t buy those cars, they were given to her, yeah…but Ford wouldn’t have gone to those 100 peoples houses and said hey, here’s you new car, if it wasn’t for the Oprah show and the publicity. ( I don’t know how many cars it was, or who the manufacturer was)

Sure she got all sorts of press for opening a school in a poverty stricken country that doesn’t educate their girl children.  But those children are still going to get educated even if she did get publicity.  Then the next arguement is that she has so much money, that what she gave is nothing, she could do more.  And again, I respond so, at least she’s doing something. My final argument is always, what have you done for someone recently.    I say Oprah, but I hear it all the time about other people who have alot of money and do something for people less fortunate, and it’s reported.  I think it’s an envy thing.  I think people hear the stories, and just don’t want to hear anything good about someone who has that much money. 

I wish I was able to fix things.  Wallpaper, paint, tile, drywall; all of those things.  Life would be so much simpler.  I just can’t though.  I don’t have the gene. I’ve tried.  It always ends badly.

Uh-oh!  BRB – the person who keeps standing me up for lunch is IM”ing me! – nothing imperative.  Just chit-chat.

I woke up an hour early this morning and could not fall back to sleep.  Now I’m a little sleepy.  Maybe I’ll go find some tea.  Just plain old Lipton tea to add some spark.

Oh WAIT!  Bought my gazillionth pair of shoes on Friday.  I believe they are borderline ugly.  BUT! they are little strappy heals AND they are very very comfortable. Dressier, but still casual.  Perfect for a denim skirt,which is my summer must.

All right, off I go.

Comments on: "I’ve got plenty of nothing…." (0)

  1. I think Oprah rubs a lot of people especially men the wrong way. Sometimes I find her interesting and other times I can’t take her. There’s an episode of Friends where Phoebe tries to do a good thing and not be in any way rewarded for it and fails. Is there any good deed that is absolutely selfless, most likely not but then again should we stop doing good deeds because we can’t meet that criteria, of course not.I think the thing to remember is that Oprah is a person and a show. She’s human just like the rest of us which means she’s just like the rest of us (problems and all) but with a lot more money and while she might try to do good deeds on her show it still is TV and has to get certain ratings.I wish I could do those house things too. I have a lot more time than Craig but he would end up having to fix my mistakes. Hope your day is going well!

  2. I think its great that Oprah does those nice things. A lot of people have the money but they still don’t do those kinds of things. I agree…its mostly men that don’t like her. I truly believe that she started out poor and struggled and really wants to do something that makes a difference.
    I can wallpaper and all that stuff. Hubby can’t…..he’d hire it done. But, the older I get the more I don’t want to do it!
    Enjoy your new shoes…I’m sure they look great. I think most of the shoes right now are borerline ugly! lol I have a granddaughter that loves shoes…thinks she has to have a new pair everytime she goes shopping. I’d hate to guess how many pair she has!

  3. I bet I feel that exact same way about O’Reilly with my husband. That man sets me on edge every time dh puts him on!

  4. I like Oprah…in small doses. Money changes people and that is a fact.

  5. You are so right.  Why do people target Oprah and others because they’re famous and doing good things?  Even if they are in it for personal glory (which I have no idea about) they are like you said, getting something done because of the publicity.  They know that cameras follow them and that they can raise awareness.  I’d love to be in a position like that.  I’d head for the animal shelters

  6. RYC:  Ah, yes, the ‘joys’ of the 5th grade band concert!  We didn’t know any better – we let Yoda play trumpet.  It changed to French Horn the next year, back to trumpet for high school.  We didn’t learn – Son picked up the trombone.  They ‘needed’ a tuba player during his junior year – so he volunteered!  Our basement is a brass section.  Sons room (he’s move out) still has a couple of guitars and a drum kit.  I think the grandchildren will be getting LOUD presents!!!  (I’m not really that mean, but my mom was – before she had children.  She gave her twin nephews each a small drum set!  Amazingly, my mother and aunt still speak!)
    Oprah irritates me sometimes, but I don’t have to watch now, do I?!?  I enjoy her show when she has Dr. Oz.  She is famous and rich – at least she isn’t going to jail! 
    I can fix some things.  I can paint and patch dry wall.  I haven’t tried wallpaper.  I like power tools!  My palm sander is my friend – on the rare occasion I refinish furniture.  (But my husband gets upset because I take up half of the garage.)  I need to figure out how to fix furniture – I have to re-cane part of a chair soon, and the leather seat on my desk-chair is shot. 
    Enjoy the new shoes!!!

  7. Hmmm…they must be making you WORK today??? Hope it is a good day though!

  8. I bought some borderline ugly espadrilles Saturday because they reminded me of high school and pointe shoes.Stupid reason. They are comfortable,though. And they were only 27 dollars.But that’s a little like my MIL’s reason to join the Chamber of Commerce. It’s only 15 dollars. Remember that post? Boy,that was a rant.Money separates people if they let it.

  9. Thought you might find this interesting –Oprah’s dad writes tell-all book

  10. Stopping by to say good morning. I hope they aren’t working you too hard!

  11. waiting for the shoe pic!!!

Leave a comment

Tag Cloud

Ninasusan

Happiness gently landed on my shoulders

A ᏣᎳᎩ Girl Writes

ᏓᏄᏩᎠᎾᎵᎯ

THE FOOD ÉTUDE

A musician learning about food.

TracyMurray.Online

A new Iteration

One Life, One Chance

Learning to be Resilient

It's me - mb!

musings from the mind of mb

The Journey from Big Girl to Fit N HEalthy

It Doesn't Matter How Many Times You Fall As Long As You Always Stand Back Up One More Time

Get With It For Life with JEN

LIFE. HEALTH. FITNESS.

LindaC61

Blogging like it's the old days.

Musings of a Quirky Introvert

ideas ... observations ... reflections

midlifechangingways

I'm on a path. It meanders.

The Enchanted Cottage

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

Binaural beats therapy

Brainwaves entrainment for Android

A Sagittarian Seeker

Sharing a life of inner and outer journeys

Victor Travel Blog

An Illustrated Travel Magazine by Victor Tribunsky

pizzasomm

pairing wine with pizza and then meowing about it.

Bridgette Tales

Everybody has a story. Here's a little of mine.

Letters from Lyndie

http://www.isanybodyhere.com

Bets and Pieces

Solving Life's Puzzles, One Word at a Time

Start Skydiving

Think...Dream...Fly!!

oceanstarr

Onward and upward